Restrictive measures

Published: 15/11/2023 Modified: 13/6/2024
Restrictive measures are measures implemented in the Republic of Croatia on the basis of binding legal acts of the European Union, the United Nations and other international organizations, as well as restrictive measures adopted by the Government of the Republic of Croatia.

The application, implementation and supervision of the application of restrictive measures are regulated by the Act on Restrictive Measures ("Official Gazette", No. 133/2023), which entered into force on November 15, 2023.

Restrictive measures may be restrictions on the disposal of assets, prohibition of entry into the state territory of the Republic of Croatia or prohibition of transit through the state territory of the Republic of Croatia, total or partial termination of economic relations, total or partial restriction of trade, import, export, transit, provision of services and postal traffic, electronical, traffic and other communications, embargo on weapons and military equipment, termination of diplomatic relations and other measures in line with international and European law.

On the basis of the Act on Restrictive Measures, the Decision on the establishment, content and use of the collection of data on restrictive measures, natural and legal persons and other entities to which the restrictive measures apply ("Official Gazette", No. 13/2024) has been brought.

Obliged entities have at their disposal also EU Best Practices for the effective implementation of restrictive measures and General Guidelines on the Application of the Act on Restrictive Measures.

An interactive map of the countries under the sanctions regimes of the United Nations and the European Union, EU Consolidated Financial Sanctions List, United Nations Security Council Consolidated List and other information on the entry into force of restrictive measures, valid sanctions lists of the United Nations Security Council and the European Union, as restrictive measures of other international organizations that bind the Republic of Croatia in accordance with international law, and measures adopted by the Government's decision on the proposal of the ministry responsible for foreign affairs are available at the following link Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs – Restrictive Measures. Additionally, on the mentioned link INFORMATION ON CHANGES IN SANCTION REGIMES are also available. Also, in accordance with Article 7, paragraph 4 of the Act on Restrictive Measures, Electronic Data Base with Instructions is available on the website of the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs, which contains all the data form the consolidated sanction lists of European Union and United Nation Security Council, it is possible to search for EU and UN consolidated lists of restrictive measures and print of pdf document is also possible. On the above link to Electronic Data Base it is also possible to register for free to receive notifications about changes in both lists.

Contact point for restrictive measures

Pursuant to Article 7, Paragraph 6 of the Act on Restrictive Measures, the head of each competent body is obliged to designate a contact point for restrictive measures within its scope, which, among other things, directly receives information from the ministry responsible for foreign affairs about the entry into force of the restrictive measures referred to in Article 4, paragraph 1 of the Act, and make information about the contact point available to the public through its website.

The Croatian National Bank made a decision on the contact point and email address for exchanging information on restrictive measures: